Don’t Blink-It’s Coming Fast!

Sand dunes complete.

I painted over the surface of the plaster with a mixture of matte medium and acrylic paint to lay down a base color.  The matte medium and acrylic paint also serves as a glue, so I sprinkled sand over that to simulate the sand dune.

Canadian Wild Rye, False Solomon Seal, and Common Juniper installed in the diorama foreground

After lunch, I began drilling into the plaster surface to place the rye grass.  That moved very quickly and I realized I needed the juniper installed before I could finish with the grass since, in the background painting, they seem to grow up into the juniper.  I cut down the juniper substantially to get it to fit, added more grass, and finished with the False Solomon Seal tucked into the grasses.

Explore posts in the same categories: Preparing the Foreground

Leave a Reply

